The grainy salad -summer special


In case you haven’t already noticed, the last few recipes have been very summer focused as I have started to be pretty obsessed with this summerless summer that has been going on. (word to self: how many times can I include summer in a sentence? …summer)

The past couple of weeks have been a bit weird in terms of weather and although some days weren’t as hot as I wanted them to be, I was in a very strange summery mood. It might be because we are soon departing to the very exotic Greece for a week – yay!

Therefore, our dinners have more or less been the same… let me introduce you the grainy salad! The smoked trout recipe that I posted a couple of weeks ago has this salad going on, but it has evolved so much since then that I needed to share it with you.

Warning!!!! This is not a ‘what you’re used to’ recipe, is more of a guidance post to let you experience with your summer food super easy!

I came up with this grainy salad idea while I was thinking for a good light summery recipe for the boy. He hates salads (mental…), those salads that are just veg and they don’t really taste of anything, flavourless and sad, you get the idea. I didn’t really fancy another steaming hot meal, I know it hasn’t been hot around here but I told you I’ve been feeling incredibly summery lately. So I had to compromise: the grains in question are still warm when I add them to the rest of the veg that form the salad so it’s not too hot but it isn’t cold either.


How to and what you need:

  • Choose your BASE

Any type of lettuce, baby spinach leaves, kale, basically any greens that you fancy

  • Choose your GRAINS

You can be boring and go for brown rice or quinoa or be super adventurous and choose one of the following: Bulgar wheat, Freekeh, Buckwheat, Millet and so on! My personal favourite is the middle east Freekeh as it’s got a really delicious smokey flavour- yum!

  • Choose your VEG

If you want to go for a green grainy salad, your safest bet will be cucumbers, courgettes rocket and green pepper. But if you’re like me and like to mix and match, radishes, tomatoes and red peppers will go down a treat! Be creative, and use the veg that are in season or at your local organic shop. Corn on cob is in season at the moment so that will be an amazing addition to any salad!!!!

  • Choose your FILLING(s)

A vegan options works just great here with some grilled tofu or aubergines(yummmm) or any grilled veg for that matter, but if you’re vegetarian, please go for grilled halloumi! It makes all the difference. You can also have egg or smoked salmon or baked/grilled fish. Seriously everything. You can even go for chicken if you’re into that sort of thing haha. It’s great if you’re having a nice summer bbq in the back garden!

  • Choose your SAUCE

I recently tried Sarah’s spicy tahini sauce from her My new roots book and I have been making it over and over again with slight changes( will def blog about it seeing it’s been such an important part of my summer), but you can go for a simple lemon and maple sirup drizzle or go for chipotle. This recipe is so good because it’s open to interpretation and you can make it your own! Also a peanut sauce will be great. The boy makes a great Asian peanut sauce, promise I’ll blog about it soon.

  • Choose your TOPPING

This is starting to sound more and more like subway haha, but I promise this is the last ingredient and arguably the best one. You can top your salad with nuts( flaked almonds, crushed peanuts, pine nuts ect) seeds ( sunflower, pumpkin, chia, sesame ect) roasted or as they come or just herbs (rosemary, coriander, dill ect). I quite like to keep it simple with nutritious yeast flakes . Up to you!

Choose wisely! And let me know if you try it! #grainysalad

Love, Sim x

Leave a Reply

